Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Dominican Baseball Finals with 2 East Teams

Dominican Baseball Teams Estrellas Orientales
and Toros del Este will begin a final series to determine the champion baseball tournament of the 2010-11 season best of nine games, starting at Francisco Micheli Stadium La Romana at 8:00 pm.

The Toros were the winners of the regular season and the Round Robin tournament, while the Estrellas finished second on both occasions. Advanced to the final after they beat the Gigantes del Cibao in a match held at the Tetelo Vargas Stadium at San Pedro de Macoris.

In particular series both teams were tied in the round robin and favored the Toros in the regular season with 6-4.

This is the first time two teams from the same region, this time the East, competing for the award and the first time that teams Tigres del Licey, and Leones del Escogido and Aguilas del Cibao are not involved in that race for the title champion.

This series has been called "The Cane Series " because both provinces produce sugar as main product.

Estrellas Orientales has won 3 times and Toros just one in 1995.

0 comentarios:

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Favorites More